open your eyes, stick your head out the window…

Last night, I stumbled across an article about the children in Afghanistan. It’s not the first time I heard or read anything concerning them, but today it actually struck me on what they were really going through. I mean, those children see people die every day. Many have lost their parents. Others, their limbs.

And that makes me extremely sad.

I remember, a few years ago, the day we were going home. I was about eight years old, and we encountered a car accident along the road. I don’t know what possessed me to look at out the window (we all know, curiosity), and the moment I did I knew I was going to have nightmares. The victim was about nineteen years old, and he was sprawled on the floor, bleeding and dead.

And that’s what most of these children have to endure every single day.

It hurts me a lot, and it’s sickening. Looking at my life now, with parents that love each other, a bed to sleep in, food to eat at random times, clothes and shoes to wear, and many other things, I basically couldn’t possibly complain about anything. But I do. I’m tired and frustrated, but I’m going to keep in mind the things I’ve been blessed with.

fifenf

Guys, no one is going to go through life easy. It’s okay to feel sad and bothered sometimes, but we shouldn’t let it linger so long that we forget ourselves. Amidst all this craziness of life, we should take some time to be thankful, you know? It’s amazing when you see your life in a different light on those special days. It puts me in a jumpy and happy mood that daily twists can’t put a damper on.

It’s hard to be content sometimes, but it’s not impossible. It’s a learning process than can be done if we really care about it. Ever tried counting your blessings? It’s the most daunting task ever!

So when you feel overwhelmed about the hard things in life, just take some time off, go for a walk, watch a funny movie, or go on Buzzfeed (trust me). Life’s too short for expired worries; take some time and live.

And like Mooseblood from The Bee Movie said, “Open your eyes, stick your head out the window! …”

Keep wobbling,

Jojo

P.S. Probably by the next post, this whole blog will be transformed!

Disclaimer: I do not own that photo.

 

10 thoughts on “open your eyes, stick your head out the window…

  1. This is a great post, Jojo.
    Thank you for sharing it.
    As Lori indicated, it helps put things into context and reminds us to be so very grateful for all that take for granted.
    Looking forward to more of your posts –
    Emma 🙂

  2. Yes, it is just heartbreaking. And like you mentioned, we so often complain when we have so much to be grateful for! That said, don’t forget that as little as our concerns may seem in comparison to other things in the world, they are still hard things for us…hard things that God cares about deeply. Even though you have much to be thankful for, it is okay to be hurt and mourn things in your own life….we do live in a broken world after all. We can go to God in our hurts (I think of the Psalms) and cry out to Him, even in the midst of having thankful hearts.
    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on this JoJo, and appreciate your compassionate heart!

      • I just think it is easy for us to deny our own hard things and just force ourselves to put on a happy face, particularly when we see other people’s hard things. Like you said, it feels like we don’t have a right to be upset or sad, etc. But I think of Jesus when Lazarus died. Mary was crying deeply and even though Jesus knew He would be raising him from the dead, He not only didn’t tell Mary to stop crying, but He cried too! We are meant to mourn the things in life that are not the way they are supposed to be….when we don’t, we are denying the effects of sin in the world. But again, like you said, thankfulness is so important. It is easy to fall on one of these two spectrums, when in reality we need to hold both of them in tension…mourning the brokenness AND being thankful for the many things we truly do have to be thankful for.

        • I wonder where all these things went when I was writing! xD But you’re right, and I do like your last statement.Maaaaybe I should look through it again… *cough*. It’s fun to have you around, Lori 🙂

          • You are doing great JoJo! You had just seen something that was so heartbreaking and it touched your heart deeply…I appreciated your post! I remember feeling this same way when I came home from a mission trip to Haiti. What I saw was so hard that it was easy to minimize anything I faced in my own life.
            Your post really is a great reminder to me to be thankful! I know I could use meditating more on the many ways the Lord has blessed me and the pieces of redemption I see all around me.
            Glad you don’t mind having me around…hehehe. 🙂

The alphabet has only 24 letters. Write something.

